Communication Studies News Updates for Communication StudiesImage of

News Updates for Communication Studies


Celebrate Communication Studies 2014! occurred April 9-11 with a talk by alum Tim Schlattmann on “Communicating Through Your Inner-Voice,” the G. Jack Gravlee Lecture by Dr. Jeffrey Sconce from Northwestern University on “The Technical Delusion,” Alumni Panels, an Open House, and a celebration of our new offices, our Department, and Sue Pendell’s retirement after 35 years at Colorado State University.


Karrin Anderson was recognized by BagNews, a website dedicated to visual politics, media literacy and the analysis of news, as a “distinguished visual scholar.”

Eric Aoki received the College of Liberal Arts Ann Gill Excellence in Teaching Award for tenure-track/tenured faculty.

The Center for Public Deliberation (CPD) was awarded a $26,703 grant through the Pharos Fund program of the Bohemian Foundation.

CPD director Martín Carcasson has been elected to serve on Board of Directors of the National Coalition for Dialogue and Deliberation (NCDD).

Martín Carcasson was named 2013-14 Communicator of the Year by the Colorado School Public Relations Association.

Katie Knobloch received a National Science Foundation grant of $116,451 for support of the project “Collaborative Research: A Multi-State Investigation of Small Group and Mass Public Decision Making on Fiscal and Scientific Controversies through the Citizens’ Initiative Review” in collaboration with John W. Gastil of The Pennsylvania State University.

Kurt North, Elizabeth Sink, and Amanda Wright received the College of Liberal Arts Curricular Innovation Award, an acknowledgement of their outstanding work revising, up-dating, and standardizing SPCM 100 Communication and Popular Culture.

Sue Pendell received the College of Liberal Arts Arts Distinction in Advancement Award.

Sue Pendell received the Western States Communication Association (WSCA) Distinguished Service Award at the WSCA Annual Convention.

The Spring 2014 Communication Capstone Appreciation Awards, recognizing member of the Colorado State University community who have made a significant contribution to improving the academic life of a graduating senior in Communication Studies, were presented to Jennifer Bone, Martín Carcasson, Julia Khrebtan-Hörhager, and Katie Knobloch, faculty members in the Department of Communication Studies.


Karrin Anderson published, with Kristina Horn Sheeler, “Texts (and Tweets) from Hillary: Meta-Meming and Postfeminist Political Culture” in Presidential Studies Quarterly.

Martín Carcasson published “Rethinking Civic Engagement on Campus: The Overarching Potential of Deliberative Practice” in Higher Education Exchange. And with Leah Sprain he published “Democratic Engagement through the Ethic of Passionate Impartiality” in Tamara: Journal for Critical Organization Inquiry. And with former colleagues Leah Sprain and Andy Merolla he published “Utilizing ‘On Tap’ experts in deliberative forums: Implications for Design in the Journal of Applied Communication Research.

John Crowley published “Gender Differences in Perceived Happiness and Well-Being of Individuals Who Engage in Contemptuous Communication” in Communication Reports with Jacquelyn Harvey Knowles.
He also published “Expressive Writing to Cope with Hate Speech: Assessing Psychobiological Stress Recovery and Forgiveness Promotion for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Queer Victims of Hate Speech” in Human Communication Research and “Support marshaling for romantic relationships: Empirical validation of a support marshaling typology” in Personal Relationships with Meara Faw and “A preliminary test of a relational goal pursuit theory of obsessive relational intrusion and stalking” in Studies in Communication Sciences with Brian Spitzberg, William Cupach, and Annegret Hannawa.

Greg Dickinson published “Neoliberal Capitalism, Globalization, and Lines of Flight: Vectors and Velocities at the 16th Street Mall” in Cultural Studies ↔ Critical Methodologies. He also published, with Brian Ott, “Two memory scholars reflect on the politics of remembering” in spectra: The Magazine of the National Communication Association.

Kate Gibson published (with Amy Heyse) “Depoliticizing Feminism: Frontier Mythology and Sarah Palin’s ‘The Rise of The Mama Grizzlies’” in Western Journal of Communication.

Nick Marx published (with Matt Sienkiewicz) “Click Culture: The Perils and Possibilities of Family Guy and Convergence-Era Television” in Communication & Critical/Cultural Studies.


Martín Carcasson, with Michelle Curie, published “Click to Engage: Using Keypads to Enhance Deliberation” with the Center for Advances in Public Engagement, Public Agenda.

Greg Dickinson was interviewed by NPR’s “All Things Considered” for a story on the opening of the September 11 Museum.


John Fowler (BA, 2013) was named a Colorado State University Outstanding Graduate for Fall 2013.

Undergraduate major Megan Brogdon presented her paper “Post Secret: From Secrecy to Creative Confession” at the Western States Communication Association Undergraduate Scholars Conference and at the Colorado State University Celebrate Undergraduate Research and Creativity 2014.

The following graduate students presented papers at the Western States Communication Association Annual Convention: Anna Dudney, Jessica Gantt, Elisa M. Varela, and Elizabeth Wicklund.

Graduate students Anne Rose Cendak, Anna Dudney, and Vicky Weber presented papers at the National Communication Association Annual Convention.

Graduate students Victoria Brown, Mar Parsaye, and Jenna Schwake presented papers at the Rocky Mountain Communication Association Annual Convention.


Martín Carcasson presented the annual William Norwood Brigance Forum Lecture at Wabash College; his talk was titled “Changing the Conversation: The Role of Colleges and Universities in Supporting Community Problem-Solving.”

Greg Dickinson presented the annual Walt Fisher Lecture at USC Annenberg; his talk was titled “Recollecting a New God: Bullocks Wilshire and the Ambivalence of Memory.”