JTC Department Fully Accredited Through 2016Image of

JTC Department Fully Accredited Through 2016

The Department of Journalism and Technical Communication is fully accredited by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications.  The department was fully renewed in the spring of 2011 after strong reviews from a team of prominent academic representatives.   Teams visit campus for three days to talk with faculty and students, as well as to examine programs, practices and procedures used by the Department to ensure quality teaching, scholarship and service.

The department’s new curriculum was noted by the accrediting team as progressive and adaptable to the changing media environment.  The new curriculum ensures that students get a strong background in information gathering, writing, critical thinking, web, video, audio and photo communication.  Once students lay a foundation, they select their own path through coursework with the goal of being prepared for a specific area of their choice.

The JTC Department has been accredited for more than three decades, and is one of 113 nationally-accredited programs.  Every accredited program must meet stringent standards set by a national body of scholars and professionals.  These standards are constantly adjusted to reflect trends and practices in journalism and communication.  Programs must stay current, and are reviewed every six years.  This review starts with an extensive self-study, which outlines virtually every activity and program undertaken within the Department during the previous six-year period.  When the self study is complete, the national accrediting body appoints academic and professional representatives from other accredited programs to visit campus and examine the Department’s activities.

Accredited programs must meet specific performance standards in nine areas including:  Mission, Governance and Administration; Curriculum and Instruction; Diversity and Inclusiveness; Full-Time and Part-Time Faculty; Scholarship: Research, Creative and Professional Activity; Student Services; Resources, Facilities and Equipment; Professional and Public Service; and Assessment of Learning Outcomes.

The review team for this cycle included Chris Callahan, Dean of the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism at Arizona State University;  Joe Misiewicz, Chair of the Department of Telecommunications at Ball State University; Pam Fine, Knight Chair in News, Leadership and Community at the University of Kansas; and Professor Jan Quarles of Middle Tennessee State University.  The team recommended that the ACEJMC approve re-accreditation for the JTC Department without any provisions.  This recommendation was approved at the committee level in early spring, and then by the entire ACEJMC Council in May of 2011.  The department’s accreditation is good for six years before the next review..

For more information about the accreditation process, visit the ACEJMC at:  http://www2.ku.edu/~acejmc/