• History •

Latest History News



CSU

Stephan Greenway

Stephan Greenway (B.A. 2009, summa cum laude; M.A. 2011) has been accepted into the Ph.D. program in History at the...

Read More
CSU

Jacob McMahon

Jacob McMahon (B.A. 2011, summa cum laude) has been accepted at Stanford Law School in Palo Alto, California....

Read More
CSU

Alumni News

Seth Shermerhorn (B.A., 2006; History, Anthropology, Liberal Arts) earned his M.A.in Religious Studies from the University of Colorado (2008); and...

Read More
CSU

Furniss Lecture 2012

Students in the History Club and Phi Alpha Theta organized and co-sponsored the 47th Annual Norman F. Furniss Lectures in...

Read More
CSU

Faculty Awards 2012

Nathan J. Citino received a fellowship from the American Council of Learned Societies for academic year 2011 – 2012 to...

Read More
CSU

Undergraduate Awards 2012

Christopher Klein and Josephine Kohnert received the Meyer Nathan Memorial Award. James Dipilato received the Norman F. Furniss Award. Hannah...

Read More
CSU

Graduate Awards 2012

Hayley Brazier and Christina Dickinson received the Rosenberg Scholarship. Outstanding Graduate Student Awards were given to Molly Abelman, Nichelle Frank,...

Read More
CSU

Graduate Student Publications

Stephan Greenway (M.A. History, 2011) was selected to receive the Missouri State Historical Society’s Missouri Historical Review Article Award, presented...

Read More

Upcoming Events



Faculty

NAME OFFICE PHONE
Ruth Alexander Clark B-354 970-491-6461 ruth.alexander@colostate.edu
Nathan Citino Clark B345 970-491-6251 ncitino@colostate.edu
John Didier 105 Spruce Hall 1037 492-4686 john.didier@colostate.edu
Mark Fiege B365 Clark 970-491-6468 mark.fiege@colostate.edu
Jennifer Fish Kashay Clark B344 491-5516 jfkashay@lamar.colostate.edu
Robert Gudmestad Clark B353 970.491.6050 robert.gudmestad@colostate.edu
Katie Hindmarch-Watson Clark B 342 970-491-3715 Katie.Hindmarch-Watson@colostate.edu
Adrian Howkins B368 Clark 491-6418 adrian.howkins@colostate.edu
Elizabeth B. Jones Clark B-343 970-491-6853 elizabeth.jones@colostate.edu
Prakash Kumar Clark B 359 9704915230 prakash.kumar@colostate.edu
James E. Lindsay Clark B-352 970-491-6217 james.lindsay@colostate.edu
Ann M. Little Clark B-341 970.491.3112 amlittle@colostate.edu
Kelly Long Clark B364 970-491-6158 Kelly.Long@colostate.edu
Diane Margolf Clark B 370 Diane.Margolf@colostate.edu
Janet Ore Clark B 366 970-491-6087 janet.ore@colostate.edu
Jared Orsi Clark B374 9704915517 jared.orsi@colostate.edu
Sarah Payne Clark B363 970-491-6840 Sarah.Payne@colostate.edu
Thaddeus Sunseri Clark B-346 970-491-6260 Thaddeus.Sunseri@Colostate.edu
Deborah Yalen Clark B362 (970) 491-6124 Deborah.Yalen@colostate.edu
Doug Yarrington Clark B357 (970)491-6334 Doug.Yarrington@colostate.edu




Staff

NAME OFFICE PHONE
Nancy Rehe
Asst to Chair/Program Asst I
B 357 Clark 970-491-6334 nancy.rehe@colostate.edu


Public Lands History Center

NAME OFFICE PHONE
Maren Bzdek
Administrative Director, Public Lands History Center
Aylesworth C104 970-491-6130 maren.bzdek@colostate.edu


Graduate Students

NAME OFFICE PHONE

Undergraduate Courses

COURSE # COURSE TITLE INSTRUCTOR CREDITS FALL SPNG SUMR
EDUC 465 Methods and Materials in Social Studies Kelly A. Long 4 X
HIST 100 Western Civilization, Pre-Modern Various Instructors 3 X X X
HIST 101 Western Civilization, Modern Various Instructors 3 X X X
HIST 121 Asian Civilizations II Eli Alberts 3 X
HIST 150 U.S. History to 1876 Varioius Instructors 3 X X X
HIST 151 U.S. History Since 1876 Varioius Instructors 3 X X X
HIST 170 World History, Ancient-1500 Varioius Instructors 3 X X X
HIST 171 World History, 1500-Present Varioius Instructors 3 X X X
HIST 311 Medieval England Susan L. Guinn-Chipman 3 X
HIST 317 Renaissance and Reformation Europe Diane C. Margolf 3 X
HIST 318 Age of Enlightenment Diane C. Margolf 3 X
HIST 319 Early Modern France, 1500-1789 Diane C. Margolf 3 X
HIST 321 Industrial Society in Europe, 1600-1871 Elizabeth B. Jones 3 X
HIST 324 Imperial Russia Deborah H. Yalen 3 X
HIST 328 Modern Europe, 1815-1914 Jodie A. Kreider 3 X
HIST 331 The Soviet Union Deborah H. Yalen 3 X
HIST 332 Germany Since World War I Elizabeth B. Jones 3 X
HIST 335 Britain in the 20th Century Daniel M. Stephen 3 X
HIST 339 World War II in Europe Kenneth J. Kirkland 3 X
HIST 341 Eighteenth Century America Ann M. Little 3 X
HIST 344 Age of Jackson Jennifer Fish Kashay 3 X
HIST 345 Civil War Era Robert H. Gudmestad; Douglas M. Dinwiddie 3 X X
HIST 347 United States, 1876-1917 Pam Vaughan Knaus 3 X
HIST 348 United States, 1917-1945 Tracy L. Brady 3 X
HIST 349 United States Since 1945 Janet Ore 3 X
HIST 351 American West to 1900 Tracy L. Brady 3 X
HIST 352 American West Since 1900 Mark T. Fiege 3 X
HIST 353 U.S.-Mexico Borderlands Jared P. Orsi 3 X
HIST 354 American Architectural History Janet Ore 3 X
HIST 355 American Environmental History Mark T. Fiege; Ruth M. Alexander 3 X
HIST 356 American Cultural and Intellectual History Kelly A. Long 3 X X X
HIST 357 The American Military Experience Robert H. Gudmestad; Douglas M. Dinwiddie 3 X X
HIST 358 American Women’s History to 1800 Ann M. Little 3 X
HIST 359 American Women’s History Since 1800 Ruth M. Alexander 3 X
HIST 360 United States Immigration History Derek R. Everett 3 X
HIST 379 Economic History of the United States Robert R. Keller 3 X
HIST 410 Colonial Latin America Douglas K. Yarrington; Adrian Howkins 3 X X
HIST 411 Latin America Since Independence Douglas K. Yarrington; Adrian Howkins 3 X X X
HIST 414 Revolutions in Latin America Douglas K. Yarrington 3 X
HIST 421 Africa: Colonialism to Independence Thaddeus Sunseri 3 X
HIST 422 Modern Africa Thaddeus Sunseri 3 X
HIST 435 Jihad and Reform in Islamic History James E. Lindsay 3 X
HIST 441 South Asia Since Independence Prakash Kumar 3 X
HIST 451 Medieval China and Central Asia Eli Alberts 3 X
HIST 455 Tokugawa and Modern Japan, 1600-Present Eli Alberts 3 X
HIST 461 Rise and Fall of British Empire 1600-1947 Daniel M. Stephen 3 X
HIST 465 Pacific Wars: Korea and Vietnam Pam Vaughan Knaus 3 X
HIST 476 History of America’s National Parks Sarah R. Payne 3 X
HIST 477 Teaching History Kelly A. Long 3 X
HIST 479 Practice of Public History Sarah R. Payne 3 X
HIST 492 Capstone Seminar Varioius Instructors 3 X X

Graduate Courses

COURSE # COURSE TITLE INSTRUCTOR CREDITS FALL SPNG SUMR
HIST 501 Historical Method: Historiography Varioius Instructors 3 X X
HIST 503 Historical Method: Preservation Sarah R. Payne; Janet Ore 3 X
HIST 504 Historical Method: Museums Jennifer Fish Kashay 3
HIST 511 Reading Seminar: U.S. to 1877 Varioius Instructors 3
HIST 512 Reading Seminar: U.S. Since 1877 Varioius Instructors 3 X
HIST 520 Reading Seminar-Europe to 1815 Diane C. Margolf 3
HIST 521 Reading Seminar-Europe Since 1815 Elizabeth B. Jones; Deborah H. Yalen 3 X
HIST 530 Reading Seminar: Africa Thaddeus Sunseri 3
HIST 531 Reading Seminar: Latin America Douglas K. Yarrington 3
HIST 532 Reading Seminar: Middle East James E. Lindsay 3
HIST 533 Reading Seminar: East Asia John C. Didier 3
HIST 534 Reading Seminar: South Asia Prakash Kumar 3
HIST 539 Reading Seminar: World Environmental History Adrian J. Howkins 3
HIST 540 Material Culture Jennifer Fish Kashay 3
HIST 611 Research Seminar: United States Varioius Instructors 3 X
HIST 621 Research Seminar: Europe Varioius Instructors 3
HIST 640 Research Seminar: State and Local History Varioius Instructors 3