• English •

Latest English News



CSU

English Department Facebook Page

The CSU English Department is now on Facebook and waiting for your “Likes”!  Just follow this link: https://www.facebook.com/pages/CSU-Department-of-English/490851710933819. We have all the...

Read More
CSU

Ellen Brinks

Ellen Brinks’s new book, Anglophone Indian Women Writers, 1870-1920, has been published by Ashgate Press....

Read More
CSU

SueEllen Campbell

SueEllen Campbell, co-author, The Face of the Earth: Natural Landscapes, Science, and Culture (California, 2011) http://www.ucpress.edu/book.php?isbn=9780520269279  ...

Read More
CSU

Aparna Gollapudi

Aparna Gollapudi, Moral Reform in Comedy and Culture, 1696–1747 (Ashgate, 2011) http://www.ashgate.com/default.aspx?page=637&calcTitle=1&isbn=9781409417965&lang=cy-GB  ...

Read More
CSU

Roze Hentschell

Roze Hentschell, co-editor, Essays in Memory of Richard Helgerson: Laureations (Delaware, 2012) http://www2.lib.udel.edu/udpress/essays.htm  ...

Read More
CSU

EJ Levy

EJ Levy’s memoir AMAZONS: A LOVE STORY was published this summer to good reviews (Kirkus called it: “…a beautifully written memoir…”)....

Read More
CSU

Dan Beachy-Quick Interview

There’s a two part interview with Dan Beachy-Quick about Moby-Dick that aired on Illinois Public Radio. It’s available here: http://www1.ben.edu/springfield/quiddity/radioprogram.html...

Read More

Upcoming Events



Faculty

NAME OFFICE PHONE
Dan Beachy-Quick Eddy 343 dan.beachy-quick@colostate.edu
Anthony Becker Eddy 352 970-491-0807 tony.becker@colostate.edu
Leslee Becker 335 Eddy Hall 970.491.7374 leslee.becker@colostate.edu
Nancy Berry 970.491.7246 Nancy.Berry@colostate.edu
Ellen Brinks 970.491.5909 Ellen.Brinks@Colostate.edu
John Calderazzo 970.491.6896 John.Calderazzo@colostate.edu
Gerald Callahan Pathology 310 970.491.7086 gerald.callahan@colostate.edu
SueEllen Campbell 970.491.6428 sueellen.campbell@colostate.edu
Kaya Chiba kaya.chiba@colostate.edu
Beth Cloven 970.491.7900 Beth.Cloven@colostate.edu
Pamela Coke 326 Eddy 970.491.6848 pamela.coke@colostate.edu
Thomas Conway 970.491.7309 Thomas.Conway@colostate.edu
Matthew Cooperman 327 Eddy Hall 970.491.6843 Matthew.Cooperman@colostate.edu
Ashley Davies Eddy 324 ashley.davies@colostate.edu
Gerald Delahunty 359 Eddy Hall 970.491.1108 gerald.delahunty@colostate.edu
Deborah Dimon 970.491.5796 Deborah.Dimon@colostate.edu
Sue Doe 314 Eddy-during renovations 349 for Fall 2014 Only Office is 314 Eddy; Please contact by email. sue.doe@colostate.edu
Judy Doenges 340 Eddy Judy.Doenges@colostate.edu
Camille Dungy Ingersol 256 camille.dungy@colostate.edu
Fabiola Ehlers-Zavala Spruce Hall 108 970-492-4686 fabponce@colostate.edu
Doug Flahive 970.491.5436 Doug.Flahive@colostate.edu
Kristen Foster Clark A 014A kristenlfoster@gmail.com
Stephanie G'Schwind Aylesworth C107 970.491.5449 stephanie.gschwind@colostate.edu
Antero Garcia Eddy 317 antero.garcia@colostate.edu
Aparna Gollapudi Eddy 321 970.491.5266 Aparna.Gollapudi@colostate.edu
Sharon Grindle Eddy 311 sharon.grindle@colostate.edu
Nancy Henke Eddy 336 nancy.henke@colostate.edu
Roze Hentschell BSB A110 970.491.5318 roze.hentschell@colostate.edu
Mary Hickey 970.491.5437 Mary.Hickey@colostate.edu
Katie Hoffman Eddy #324 katie.hoffman@colostate.edu
Kathryn Hulings Eddy 328 Kathryn.Hulings@colostate.edu
Zach Hutchins 339 Eddy Hall 970-491-0962 zach.hutchins@colostate.edu
Megan Huwa Clark A 020 megan.huwa@colostate.edu
Tobi Jacobi 333 Eddy Hall 970.491.3344 tobi.jacobi@colostate.edu
Jaime Jordan Ingersoll jaime.jordan@colostate.edu
Rebecca Kennedy Eddy #308 rebecca.kennedy@colostate.edu
Carrie A Lamanna Eddy 330 please contact by email carrie.lamanna@colostate.edu
Judith Lane 970.491.2056 Judith.Lane@colostate.edu
Lisa Langstraat 970.491.6838 lisa.langstraat@colostate.edu
Beth Lechleitner 970.491.0674 Beth.Lechleitner@colostate.edu
Ed Lessor 970.491.5437 Edward.Lessor@colostate.edu
Jennifer Levin Eddy 323A Jennifer.Levin@colostate.edu
EJ Levy Eddy Hall 342 202-631-3451 ej.levy@colostate.edu
William Marvin 356 Eddy Hall wmarvin@colostate.edu
Dana Masden Eddy 309 970.491.0674 Dana.Masden@colostate.edu
Bev McQuinn 970.491.3395 Beverly.McQuinn@colostate.edu
Todd Mitchell Eddy 323B 970.493.2972 Todd.Mitchell@colostate.edu
Emily Morgan 970.491.6218 Emily.Morgan@colostate.edu
Cindy O'Donnell-Allen 970.491.5161 Cindy.Odonnell-Allen@colostate.edu
Mike Palmquist Drake Hall 970.491.5288 Mike.Palmquist@colostate.edu
Sarah Louise Pieplow sarahlouisemfa@gmail.com
Jeremy Proctor Eddy 311 Jeremy.Proctor@colostate.edu
Kristina Quynn A20 Clark quynn@colostate.edu
Anne Reid 257 Ingersoll Hall anne.reid@colostate.edu
Louann Reid 362 Eddy 970.491.6428 Louann.Reid@colostate.edu
Daniel Robinson 970.491.0807 Daniel.Robinson@colostate.edu
James Roller Ingersoll 357 please contact by email James.Roller@colostate.edu
Bruce Ronda 970.491.5421 bruce.ronda@colostate.edu
Jill Salahub 255 Ingersoll Hall jill.salahub@colostate.edu
Terrie Sandelin 970.491.3395 Terrie.Sandelin@colostate.edu
Barbara Sebek 319 Eddy barbara.sebek@colostate.edu
Lynn Shutters 970.491.3438 lynn.shutters@colostate.edu
Sarah Sloane Eddy 331 970.631.9230 Sarah.Sloane@colostate.edu
Leif Sorensen 347 Eddy Hall 970.491.3486 Leif.Sorensen@colostate.edu
Sasha Steensen 970.491.5079 Sasha.Steensen@colostate.edu
Christina Sutton 970.491.6067 Christina.Sutton@colostate.edu
Laura Thomas 337 Eddy Hall 970.491.7309 Laura.Thomas@colostate.edu
Debby Thompson 332 Eddy Hall 970.491.2840 Deborah.Thompson@Colostate.edu
Paul Trembath Eddy 351 970.491.5162 Paul.Trembath@colostate.edu
Debra Walker 970.491.3341 Debra.Walker@colostate.edu
Nancy Wright 970.491.5796 nancy.wright@colostate.edu


Adjunct

NAME OFFICE PHONE
Ingersoll 151 kuhulings@gmail.com


Staff

NAME OFFICE PHONE
Sheila Dargon 359 Eddy Building 970.491.6428 sheila.dargon@colostate.edu
Regina Franklin 970.491.6616 Regina.Franklin@colostate.edu
Amparo Jeffrey Behavioral Sciences Building Rm A107 970.491.6429 Amparo.Jeffrey@colostate.edu
Marnie Leonard Behavioral Sciences Building Rm A106 970.491.2403 Marnie.Leonard@colostate.edu
Sue Russell 353 Eddy Hall 970.491.1898 Sue.Russell@colostate.edu






Graduate Students

NAME OFFICE PHONE
Richard Hoberg richard.hoberg@colostate.edu

Undergraduate Courses

COURSE # COURSE TITLE INSTRUCTOR CREDITS FALL SPNG SUMR
CO150 College Composition 3 X X X
CO300 Writing Arguments 3 X X X
CO301A Writing in the Disciplines: Arts and Humanities 3 X X X
CO301B Writing in the Disciplines: Sciences 3 X X X
CO301C Writing in the Disciplines: Social Sciences 3 X X X
CO301D Writing in the Disciplines: Education 3 X X X
CO302 Writing Online 3 X X
CO401 Advanced Composition 3 X X
CO402 Advanced Writing Online 3 X X
E140 The Study of Literature 3 X X X
E179 Western American Literature 3 X X X
E210 Beginning Creative Writing 3 X X X
E232 Introduction to Humanities 3 X X
E234/ETST234 Introduction to Native American Literature 3 X
E237 Introduction to Science Fiction 3 X X
E238 Twentieth-Century Fiction 3 X X
E239/ETST239 Introduction to Chicano Literature 3 X X
E240 Introduction to Poetry 3 X X X
E242 Introduction to Shakespeare 3 X X X
E245 World Drama 3 X X
E270 Introduction to American Literature 3 X X X
E276 Survey of British Literature I 3 X
E277 Survey of British Literature II 3 X
E302 Reading and the Web 3 X X
E305 Principles of Writing and Rhetoric 3 X X
E311A Intermediate Creative Writing: Fiction 3 X X
E311B Intermediate Creative Writing: Poetry 3 X X
E320 Introduction to the Study of Language 3 X X X
E322 English Language for Teachers I 3 X
E323 English Language for Teachers II 3 X
E324 Teaching English as a Second Language 3 X
E326 Development of the English Language 3 X
E327 Syntax and Semantics 3 X
E328 Phonology, Morphology, and Lexis 3 X
E329 Pragmatics and Discourse Analysis 3 X
E330 Gender in World Literature 3 X
E332 Modern Women Writers 3 X X
E333 Critical Studies of Popular Texts 3 X X
E334 Gay and Lesbian Literature 3 X
E337 Western Mythology 3 X
E338 Ethnic Literature in the United States 3 X X X
E339 Literature of the Earth 3 X X
E341 Principles of Literary Criticism 3 X X X
E342 Shakespeare I 3 X X X
E343 Shakespeare II 3 X X X
E345 American Drama 3 X
E350 The Gothic in Literature and Film 3 X
E370 American Literature in Cultural Contexts 3 X X X
E384A Supervised College Teaching: Classroom 1-3 X X
E384B Supervised College Teaching: Writing Center 1-3 X X
E401 Teaching Reading 3 X X
E402 Teaching Composition 3 X X
E403 Writing the Environment 3 X X
E405 Adolescents’ Literature 3 X X
E412A Creative Writing Workshop: Fiction 3 X X
E412B Creative Writing Workshop: Poetry 3 X X
E412C Creative Writing Workshop: Nonfiction 3 X X
E420 Beat Generation Writing 3 X
E421 Asian American Literature 3 X X
E422 African-American Literature 3 X
E423 Latino/a Literature 3 X X
E424 English Renaissance 3 X
E425 Restoration and 18th-century 3 X
E426 British Romanticism 3 X
E427 Victorian Age 3 X
E428 Postcolonial Literatures 3 X X
E430 18th-Century English Fiction 3 X
E431 19th-Century English Fiction 3 X
E432 20th-Century British Fiction 3 X
E433 Literatures of the American West 3 X X X
E438 Native American Literature 3 X
E440 American Prose before 1900 3 X X X
E441 American Prose after 1900 3 X X X
E443 English Renaissance Drama 3 X
E444 Restoration and 18th-Century Drama 3 X
E445 Modern British and European Drama 3 X
E452 Masterpieces of European Literature 3 X
E455 European Literature after 1900 3 X
E460 Chaucer 3 X
E465 Topics in Literature and Language 3 X X
E470 Individual Author 3 X X X
E475 American Poetry Before 1900 3 X
E478 Modern Poetry 3 X
E479 Recent Poetry of the U.S. 3 X X X
E487A Internship: Supervised Work Experience 1-3 X X X
E487B Internship: Literary Editing 1-3 X X X
E487C Internship: Community Literacy Center 1-3 X X X
E487D Internship: CSU Writing Center 1-3 X X X
E495 Independent Study 1-3 X X X
ED463 Methods of Teaching English Language Arts 4 X X

Graduate Courses

COURSE # COURSE TITLE INSTRUCTOR CREDITS FALL SPNG SUMR
E501 Theories of Composition 3 X
E502 Language, Literacy and Learning 3 X
E503 Investigating Classroom Literacies 3 X X
E504 Situating Composition Studies: Theories, Practice, and Disciplinary Politics 3 X X
E505A Major Authors: English 3 X X
E505B Major Authors: American 3 X X
E505C Major Authors: World 3 X X
E506A Literature Survey: English 3 X X
E506B Literature Survey: American 3 X X
E506C Literature Survey: Comparative 3 X X
E507 Special Topics in Linguistics 3 X X
E513A Form and Technique in Modern Literature: Fiction 3 X
E513B Form and Technique in Modern Literature: Poetry 3 X
E513C Form and Technique in Modern Literature: Essay 3 X
E514 Phonology and Morphology for ESL/EFL 3 X
E515 Syntax for ESL/EFL 3 X
E520 English Phonetics and Phonology 3 X
E522 Semantics, Pragmatics and Discourse 3 X
E526 Teaching English as Foreign/Second Language 3 X
E527 Theories of Foreign/Second Language Learning 3 X
E600A Research Methods and Theory: Literature 3 X
E600B Research Methods and Theory: Design 3 X
E601 Research in TESOL 2-3 X
E603 Computers and Composition 3 X
E605 Reading/Writing Connections 3 X
E607A Teaching Writing: Composition and Rhetoric 3 X
E607B Teaching Writing: Creative Writing 3 X X
E608 Integrating Writing in the Academic Core 1 X
E615 Reading Literature: Recent Theories 3 X X
E630A Special Topics in Literature: Area Studies 3 X X
E630B Special Topics in Literature: Genre Studies 3 X X
E630C Special Topics in Literature: Theory & Technique 3 X X
E630D Special Topics in Literature: Gender Studies 3 X X
E631 Crossing Boundaries 3 X X
E632 Professional Concerns in English 3 X X
E633 Special Topics in Discourse Studies 3 X X
E634 Special Topics in TEFL/TESL 3 X X
E635 Critical Studies in Literature and Culture 3 X X
E636 Environmental Literature and Criticism X X
E637 History of Writing 3 X X
E640A Graduate Writing Workshop: Fiction 3 X X
E640B Graduate Writing Workshop: Poetry 3 X X
E640C Graduate Writing Workshop: Essay 3 X X
E641 Writing Nonfiction: Variable Topics 3 X X
E642 Writing Hypertext 3 X X
E684A Supervised College Teaching 1-5 X X
E684B Supervised College Teaching: ESL 1-5 X
E684C Supervised College Teaching: Creative Writing 1-5 X X
E684D Supervised College Teaching: Literature 1-5 X X
E684E Supervised College Teaching: Computer-Assisted Instruction 1-5 X X
E687A Internship: Teaching College English 1-5 X X
E687B Internship: Composition Supervision/Administration 1-5 X X
E687C Internship: Literary Editing 1-5 X X
E687E Internship: Teaching ESL, K-12 1-5 X X X
E687H Internship: ESL-Adult Learning 1-5 X X X
E687I Internship: ESL-Supervision/Administration 1-5 X X X
E687J Internship: Arts Administration in Literature 1-5 X X X
E687K Internship: Public Education 1-5 X X X
E687L Internship: Computers and Writing 1-5 X X X
E687M Internship: Writing/Editing for Specific Purposes 1-5 X X X
E692 Rhetoric and Composition Seminar 1 X
E694 TEFL/TESL Portfolio 1-3 X X X
E695 Independent Study 1-2 X X X
E698 Final Project 1-2 X X X
E699 Thesis 1-18 X X X